Volume 10, number 1, 2014

prise-deparole-logo-40

Denis Martouzet

Forward (p. 13-25)

Camille Clément

The Suburban Agricultural Area: An Analyzer for the Complexity of the Territorial Constructions between Politics, Public Debates and Spatial Practices. A Case Study in the Lunel (Languedoc) (p. 25-57)

Résumé : This paper aims to shed light on the complexity of the territorial constructions and appropriations by crossing of political actions, public debates and spatial practices of the “communauté de communes du Pays de Lunel” (Languedoc, France). In suburbanization, this territory wants to confirm its existence by the affirmation of these agricultural and rural identities. In this way, they want to differentiate themselves from the two most important greater cities of the region (Montpellier and Nimes). It is by agricultural theme that a qualitative study of the SCOT (territorial coherence plan), a short supply chain project and a wine tourism project (political actions) were studied. This first approach aims to capture five public debates (study of the regional and local press) that are directly linked to the political choices made by this territorial authority. In the end, the study shows that these political actions and public debates must be linked with spatial practices. It is only at the scale of suburban farmland place that these three concepts can be related and show the complexity of territorial appropriations, an appropriation by the political (political actions and public debates) and an appropriation through practices.
Mots-clefs : Territorial appropriation, territoriality of political project, Camargue’s tradition, outdoor leisure activity, peri-urban agriculture

Aurélien Allouche

Territory Objectivization Cognitive Factors: Epistemic Relationships and Representations in Water Management in Camargue (p. 59-113)

Résumé : This article is an attempt to address the issue of territory by an emerging perspective in sociology: the study of cognitive and epistemic dimensions of governance and participatory democracy. In order to examine the integration of the inhabitants’ representations and of the lay knowledge in decision-making, it focuses on the collective work of objectification of the territory necessary to the collective management. Analyzing the epistemic and cognitive properties of objectification, the author identifies two processes limiting the integration of lay knowledge and local representations to the definition of the project territory: the dynamic of epistemic relations and the realization of the organizational learning by creating rules of management. The article relies on a case study corresponding to the collective water management in the Camargue (France, Bouches-du-Rhône) that necessitated the sociological inquiry of a participatory commission conducted from 2009 to 2012.
Mots-clefs : Territory objectification, participatory democracy, epistemic relations, organizational learning, Camargue

Lolita Voisin

To Govern Complexity? Landscape Study as Experience of Governance for Local Public Actors (Blois and Nevers, France) (p. 115-162)

Résumé :This article intends to question the processes of building a local public action. Using the example of three French mid-sized cities, the article highlights the mobilization of local stakeholders on a particular subject: landscape. Why and how is the landscape put in motion? By observing practice and speeches of stakeholders, it is the territorial organization under construction that seems emphasized, in particular through the groupings of conurbations. The article aims at opening new questionings concerning the capacity of landscape to govern the complexity of contemporary spatial phenomena and multiplied social and political expectations.
Mots-clefs : Public action, landscape, territorialization, stakeholders strategy, territory project

Marion Bourhis

Turquoise Economy, between Political Project’s Territory and Differentiated Territorial Representations: The Duty of Makink Links (p. 163-191)

Résumé : Often called as support of mobilization of collective action, the territory is polysemous in its definition. The general council of “Côtes-d’Armor” as a local and public authority relies on the administrative territory within its prerogative to implement its approach called “Turquoise Economy”. This aims to reaffirm and to strengthen the maritime ambition of Côtes-d’Armor while promoting an economic diversification based on an integrated management of maritime and coastline space and resources. However, although the general council is perceived as legitimate to intervene as a public authority, the territory of intervention has often been questioned by the stakeholder, whether or not they participate to the implementation of the policy. Based on our work, we will analyze the reasons of this lag and we will demonstrate how it can be overcome through a public policy thought in an inter-territorial perspective.
Mots-clefs :Turquoise economy, Côtes-d’Armor, territory, project, competencies, inter-territoriality, stackeholders, representation

Matthieu Adam and Georges-Henry Laffont

A Dialectical Approach for the Continuously Making City: Representations Confrontation of Designers and Inhabitants in Bottière-Chénaie Ecological Neiborhood (p. 192-235)

Résumé : This article aims to contribute to the characterization of the city production in the beginning of the twenty-first century. For this purpose, we model urban project under construction as a mediation process between the representations of its designers and receptors (inhabitants). Our goal is to understand how they are formulated and how they influence each other in order to comprehend why they do not join.
This dialectical approach emphasizes the multiplicity of meanings that can be given to material and symbolic properties of a territory. Through the analyze of the representations of the designers and inhabitants of the ecological neighborhood Bottière-Chénaie in Nantes, we will show the relationship between them and the need to go over the simplistic vision of the urban project as a linear process – design, realization, reception – and to incorporate models including the influences of effects on causes into the field of urban research.
Mots-clefs : Representations, urban project, modeling, dialectics, conceived space, received space

Claire Le Thomas

Perceptions of Artists on the Territory: Balle perdue (Lost Ball), a Tour-Performance of Dector and Dupuy (p. 237-281)

Résumé : Balle perdue (Lost Ball) is a happening achieved by two artists, Dector and Dupuy, in 2014. It consists in a guided tour of the fifteen kilometers between Caen and the English Channel. Through the concept of work of art-place, theorized by Anne Volvey, this paper analyzes this art work’s effects on the viewer’s spatial perception and the ways it creates some territory, cross-examining in return the complexity of this notion on a geographical point of view.
Mots-clefs : Territory, Caen, art, performance, spatial perception

Léa Sébastien

The Territory, a Socio-Patrimonial System Decoded by the “Actor in 4 Dimensions” Model (p. 283-329)

Résumé : The territory represents the duality between man and nature, mixing subjective and objective elements. For some authors, this polysemic notion makes less and less sense and should be abandoned. We propose on the opposite to deepen the analysis of this territorial complexity. To do so, this paper explores two complementary theses. On a theoretical basis, we define the territory as a socio-patrimonial system: an interactional nexus between social relations and what we call patrimonial relations (links to natural and cultural heritage). On a practical basis, we operationalized this definition through a model entitled the Actor in 4 Dimensions (A4D) which examines relations between humans and relations to non-humans on a specific area. The A4D leads to territorial footprints for each actor of the area, a synchronic radiography of their social and patrimonial links. This analytical model is a vector of data on the actors and of dialog between them; it can be of interest for researchers, mediators, administrators and for territorial actors themselves. Our results show that social relations depend on the context in which they are anchored and that man and nature relationships exist through social links. In order to decrypt what a territory is, this socio-patrimonial nexus should be more deeply decorticated by studying the attaches between nature and culture.
Mots-clefs : Territory, heritage, actor, social relation, patrimonial relation, territorial footprint

Volume 10, numéro 1, 2014

prise-deparole-logo-40

Denis Mazouret

Avant- propos (p. 13-25)

Camille Clément

Le lieu agricole périurbain : un analyseur de la complexité des constructions territoriales entre actions politiques, débats publics et pratiques spatiales. Étude de cas dans le Lunellois (Languedoc) (p. 25-57)

Résumé : Cet article a pour objectif d’éclairer la complexité des constructions et appropriations territoriales à partir de l’étude croisée des actions politiques, débats publics et pratiques spatiales de la communauté de communes du Pays de Lunel (Languedoc). En cours de périurbanisation, ce territoire mise sur son ancrage agricole et rural pour se différencier des agglomérations en expansion de Montpellier et de Nîmes. C’est donc par la thématique agricole qu’une étude qualitative du SCOT (Schéma de Cohérence Territoriale), d’un projet de circuits courts et d’un pôle œnotouristique (actions politiques) ont été étudiés afin de saisir cinq débats publics (étude de la presse régionale et intercommunautaire) qui sont directement en lien avec les choix politiques réalisés par cette instance territoriale. Au final, l’étude montre que ces actions politiques et débats publics doivent être mis en relation avec les pratiques spatiales observées dans le territoire. Ce n’est qu’à l’échelle du lieu agricole périurbain que ces trois notions s’alimentent mutuellement afin de montrer la complexité des appropriations territoriales, appropriations par le politique (actions politiques et débats publics) et appropriations par la pratique.
Mots-clefs : Appropriation territoriale, projet politique territorial, tradition camarguaise, loisir de plein air, agriculture périurbaine

Aurélien Allouche

Les facteurs cognitifs de l’objectivation du territoire : relations épistémiques et représentations dans la gestion de l’eau en Camargue (p. 59-113)

Résumé : Cet article aborde la problématique du territoire selon une perspective émergente en sociologie, l’étude des dimensions cognitives et épistémiques de la gouvernance et de la démocratie participative. Il se concentre sur le travail collectif d’objectivation du territoire rendu nécessaire par sa gestion collective pour interroger l’intégration des représentations des habitants et des savoirs profanes au processus de décision. En considérant les propriétés épistémiques et cognitives de l’objectivation, l’auteur identifie deux processus limitant l’intégration des connaissances profanes et des représentations locales à la définition du territoire de projet : la dynamique des relations épistémiques et les modalités d’apprentissage organisationnel sous forme de règle de gestion. L’article prend pour cas d’étude la gestion collective de l’eau en Camargue (France, Bouches-du-Rhône) et s’appuie sur l’observation sociologique d’une commission participative réalisée de 2009 à 2012.
Mots-clefs : Objectivation du territoire, démocratie participative, relations épistémiques, apprentissage organisationnel, Camargue

Lolita Voisin

Gouverner la complexité? Étude du paysage comme expérience de gouvernance pour les acteurs publics locaux (Blois, Nevers, France) (p. 115-162)

Résumé :Cet article propose d’interroger les processus de construction d’une action publique territorialisée. À partir du cas de trois villes moyennes françaises, l’article souligne la mobilisation d’un sujet particulier par les acteurs publics locaux : le paysage. Pourquoi et comment le paysage est-il mobilisé? En observant les pratiques et les discours des acteurs, c’est l’organisation territoriale en construction qui apparaît en filigrane, notamment à travers les communautés d’agglomération. L’article se propose d’ouvrir de nouveaux questionnements concernant la capacité du paysage à gouverner la complexité des phénomènes spatiaux contemporains et des attentes sociales et politiques démultipliées.
Mots-clefs : Action publique, paysage, territorialisation, stratégies d’acteurs, projet de territoire

Marion Bourhis

L’Économie turquoise, entre territoire de projet politique et représentations territoriales différenciées : le devoir d’articulation (p. 163-191)

Résumé : Bien souvent convoqué comme support de mobilisation de l’action collective, le territoire n’en est pas moins polysémique dans sa définition. Le Conseil Général des Côtes-d’Armor en tant que collectivité territoriale et puissance publique s’appuie sur le territoire administratif relevant de sa prérogative pour mettre en œuvre sa démarche Économie turquoise. Cette dernière a pour objectif de réaffirmer et de renforcer l’ambition maritime des Côtes-d’Armor tout en promouvant une diversification économique se basant sur une gestion intégrée de l’espace et des ressources maritimes et littorales. Or, bien que le Conseil général soit perçu comme légitime, en tant que puissance publique, pour intervenir; le choix du territoire d’intervention a bien souvent été posé par les acteurs, qu’ils participent ou non à la démarche. En nous basant sur nos travaux de recherche, nous analyserons les raisons de ce décalage et démontrerons comment ce dernier peut être dépassé grâce à une action publique pensée dans une perspective interterritoriale.
Mots-clefs :Économie turquoise, Côtes-d’Armor, territoire, projet, compétences, interterritorialité, acteurs, représentation

Matthieu Adam et Georges-Henry Laffont

Une approche dialectique de la ville en train de se faire : confrontation des représentations des concepteurs et des habitants de l’écoquartier de Bottière-Chénaie (p. 192-235)

Résumé : TCet article entend participer à une démarche de caractérisation de la production de la ville en ce début de XXIe siècle. Pour ce faire, il s’appuie sur une modélisation du projet urbain en phase de réalisation comme un dispositif de médiation entre ces les représentations de ses concepteurs et ses récepteurs (les habitants). Nous souhaitons comprendre comment elles se construisent et s’influencent mutuellement afin d’appréhender pourquoi elles ne se rejoignent pas.
Cette approche dialectique met en exergue la pluralité de sens qui peuvent être accordés aux propriétés matérielles et symboliques d’un territoire. Par l’analyse des représentations des concepteurs et des habitants de l’écoquartier de Bottière-Chénaie à Nantes, nous montrerons les relations qui existent entre celles-ci et la nécessité de dépasser la vision simplificatrice d’un processus linéaire du projet – conception, réalisation, réception – et qu’il faut intégrer dans le champ de la recherche urbaine des modèles intégrant les influences des effets sur les causes.
Mots-clefs : Représentations, projet urbain, modélisation, dialectique, espace conçu, espace reçu

Claire Le Thomas

Regard d’artistes sur le territoire : Balle perdue, une visite-performance de Dector et Dupuy (p. 237-281)

Résumé : Balle perdue est une performance réalisée par deux artistes, Dector et Dupuy, en 2014. Il s’agit d’une visite guidée des quinze kilomètres compris entre Caen et la Manche. Au moyen du concept d’objet d’art-lieu théorisé par Anne Volvey, cet article analyse les effets de cette oeuvre sur la perception spatiale des spectateurs et la manière dont elle fabrique du territoire, interrogeant en retour la complexité de cette notion en géographie.
Mots-clefs : Territoire, Caen, art, performance, perception spatiale

Léa Sébastien

Le territoire, un système socio-patrimonial décrypté par le modèle de l’Acteur en 4 Dimensions (p. 283-329)

Résumé : Le territoire, entité relationnelle complexe, met en avant la dualité homme-nature en mêlant morphologie de l’espace et subjectivité du regard passé, présent et futur. Une notion polysémique donc, qui pour certains auteurs ne fait plus sens. Plutôt que d’abandonner la notion de territoire, nous proposons au contraire d’accepter la mouvance du concept et d’approfondir l’analyse de cette complexité territoriale. Pour ce faire, cet article expose deux thèses complémentaires. D’un point de vue théorique, nous positionnons le territoire en tant que système socio-patrimonial, fruit des relations sociales et des relations au patrimoine (naturel et culturel). Le territoire serait alors un nœud interactionnel entre ce que nous appelons rapport social et rapport patrimonial. D’un point de vue pratique, nous proposons d’opérationnaliser cette définition au-travers d’un modèle de diagnostic territorial intitulé l’Acteur en 4 Dimensions (A4D) qui vise l’analyse du jeu d‘acteurs par l’étude des liens entre humains et liens au non humain. L’A4D permet de constituer ce que nous nommons des empreintes territoriales propres à chaque acteur, une radiographie synchronique des liens sociaux et patrimoniaux sur un territoire. Ce modèle conceptuel d’analyse est vecteur d’informations sur le jeu d‘acteurs et de dialogue entre parties intéressées. Il s’adresse alors aux chercheurs, porteurs de projets, médiateurs ainsi qu’aux acteurs territoriaux eux-mêmes. Nos résultats montrent que l’étude des liens sociaux ne peut se faire indépendamment du contexte dans lesquels ils sont ancrés et inversement, que les liens homme-nature existent par le biais de relations sociales. Des objets qui font du lien ; des liens qui font des objets : une problématique à approfondir pour décrypter ce qu’est le territoire au-travers d’une analyse sur les attaches entre nature et culture.
Mots-clefs : Territoire, patrimoine, acteur, rapport social, rapport patrimonial, empreinte territoriale