General Information

Text types

The journal Nouvelles perspectives en sciences sociales (NPSS) accepts articles written by an individual or a group, that have not been published elsewhere, that are closely linked to its mission statement, and that reflect either an empirical analysis, a more speculative and theoretical contribution which, from an original perspective, establishes connections between previous research and current theories, or a critical reading – concise and synthetic – of a theory or a body of theories.

Language and length of texts

Articles are written in French. An article contains between 15 and 30 pages, apart from book reviews which count between 3 and, at most, 6 pages. Imperatively, articles are accompanied by an abstract of about 150 words in French and its English translation; these synopses are followed by a list of key-words in both languages. Each page contains between 3,500 and 4,300 characters – spaces included (that is to say approximately 2,500 to 3,500 characters without spaces).

Article selection mode

The selection principle is as follows: 1) articles undergo an initial screening by an internal committee of reviewers composed of members of the editorial board in order to check the conformity with the journal mission statement, sorting that preselects papers for future issues; 2) each article is then anonymously reviewed by at least two external experts. The editorial committee notifies as soon as possible the author (or the authors) of its decision regarding his or her article. A report is sent to the author, which includes evaluators’ comments.

At this point, if the article is not rejected, a complementary phase is proposed to the authors and evaluators: the idea is to add to the traditional review process a dialogue between those who explicitly agree with the principle. In this case, those of the authors and those of the evaluators who have committed themselves to doing so will dialogue face uncovered, under the direct supervision of the editorial board and correct the paper together. This “collaborative evaluation” allows evaluators to specify and justify their demands and the authors to debate with them, and all to reach the compromises which are likely to improve the article. Those who have engaged in this type of evaluation found that its main interest lies in the appeasement of the evaluation process and the advancement due to collaborative discussions. The journal hence embodies its philosophy that authors, evaluators, and members of the editorial board inseparably be its creators and driving force.

Essential information

Authors are requested to kindly submit with their article a cover sheet on which the following information appears (this confidential page will not be transmitted to the external reviewers): name and surname; name of the University, research group (more generally name of the professional affiliation); e-mail address, imperatively; web site address if applicable.

Anti-plagiarism rule

The journal prohibits plagiarism, not only copying of a document, but also any borrowing, whatever the type, if no reference is made to the source. The journal prohibits just as well the reproduction by the authors of a part of a paper that they published elsewhere if no reference to it has been made. If the editorial board discovers that an author has contravened this policy, the paper, needless to say, is automatically rejected and the author is advised. If the editorial board found out after publication that the policy has been infringed, the article would be denounced in a subsequent issue.

Renseignements généraux

Les types de textes

La revue Nouvelles perspectives en sciences sociales (NPSS) accepte les articles rédigés par un individu ou par un collectif, non publiés ailleurs, présentant un lien étroit avec son énoncé de mission et faisant état soit d’une analyse empirique, soit d’un travail plus spéculatif et plus théorique qui, dans une perspective originale, fait le lien entre recherches antérieures et théories actuelles, soit encore d’une lecture critique, concise et synthétique d’une théorie ou d’un ensemble de théories.

Langue et longueur des textes

Les articles seront rédigés en français. Un article doit avoir une longueur d’environ 15 à 30 pages, à l’exception des comptes-rendus de lecture qui doivent comporter entre 3 et 6 pages (maximum). Les articles doivent impérativement être accompagnés d’un résumé d’environ 150 mots en français et d’une traduction anglaise de ce résumé (abstract) ; ces résumés seront suivis d’une liste de mots-clés (keywords). Chaque page de texte comporte entre 3 500 et 4 300 caractères – espaces compris (soit environ 2 500 à 3 500 caractères, espaces non compris).

Mode de sélection et d’évaluation des articles

Le principe de sélection est le suivant : 1) un tri préalable sera effectué par le comité de lecture interne constitué d’une partie des membres du comité de rédaction pour vérifier la conformité à la mission de la revue, tri qui aboutira à une présélection des articles destinés aux numéros à venir ; 2) chaque article sera ensuite lu et évalué à l’aveugle par au moins deux experts externes. L’auteur (ou les auteurs) sera avisé dès que possible de la décision qui aura été prise par la direction de la revue à l’égard de son article : sélection ; rapport accompagné des commentaires des appréciateurs pouvant amener à une révision du texte pour une soumission ultérieure ; acceptation ou refus avec justifications du refus.

À ce stade, une phase complémentaire est proposée aux auteurs et appréciateurs : il s’agit d’ajouter au processus classique d’évaluation un dialogue entre ceux d’entre eux qui en acceptent explicitement le principe. Dans ce cas, ceux des auteurs et ceux de leurs appréciateurs qui s’y engagent vont dialoguer à visage découvert, sous l’étroite supervision de la direction de la revue, et corriger le texte ensemble. Cette « évaluation collaborative » permet aux appréciateurs de préciser leurs demandes et les raisons qui les justifient, aux auteurs d’en débattre avec eux, à tous de trouver les compromis susceptibles d’améliorer l’article. L’intérêt relevé par tous ceux qui ont pratiqué cette forme d’évaluation est à rechercher principalement dans l’apaisement de l’opération d’évaluation et dans son enrichissement grâce aux échanges entre les partenaires. La revue incarne ainsi sa philosophie qui veut qu’auteurs, appréciateurs et dirigeants en soient indissociablement les créateurs et les moteurs.

Informations indispensables

Les auteurs sont priés de bien vouloir accompagner les articles d’une page de garde fournissant les informations suivantes (cette page confidentielle ne sera pas transmise aux experts membres du comité externe d’évaluation) : nom et prénom ; nom de l’université ou du groupe de recherche (plus généralement nom du lieu professionnel) ; adresse électronique impérativement ; éventuellement adresse http (site Web).

Règlement anti-plagiat

La revue n’admet pas le plagiat, non seulement la copie de texte, mais aussi tout emprunt, quel qu’il soit, sans que soit fait référence à la source. La revue n’admet pas non plus que les auteurs rerpoduisent une partie d’un texte qu’ils auraient publié ailleurs sans y référer. Si le comité de rédaction découvre que les auteurs contreviennent à ce règlement, leur texte, il va sans dire, est automatiquement rejeté et les auteurs en sont informés. Si le comité de rédaction découvrait après publication que cette règle a été enfreinte, l’article serait dénoncé dans un numéro ultérieur.